Workers’ compensation is a state-regulated insurance program that is overseen by the Workers’ Compensation Division (WCD). All employers in Oregon have a legal obligation to provide their employees with insurance coverage and information regarding workers’ compensation benefits. Whenever an employee sustains an occupational injury or illness, they can file a claim through the WCD to secure financial aid and certain time-loss benefits. Unfortunately, employers and their insurance providers aren’t above rejecting a claim just to protect their own interests. But how can an employee recover and pay off their medical debts when they can’t even work? For this reason, it’s critical that a sick or injured worker contact an attorney before taking legal action.
If you’re ready to file a workers’ compensation claim, contact the Hillsboro workers’ compensation attorneys at The Gatti Law Firm as soon as possible. Our legal team is armed with over 100 years of collective experience and a comprehensive understanding of this complicated legal process. During your initial appointment, we can discuss the accident, review your projected injury-related expenses, and explain the extent of your legal options. With our help, you can file an effective claim that alleviates your debts and facilitates your overall recovery. If necessary, we can also represent your interests through each stage of the appeal process.
Contact The Gatti Law Firm at (503) 543-1114 to discuss your case with a qualified legal representative.
Filing for Workers’ Compensation in Oregon
Being injured and out of work is often a frightening experience. Fortunately, Oregon has a no-fault workers’ compensation system. This means that you can pursue benefits without having to prove that your employer caused or contributed to your injury or illness. So long as you were injured on the job, you should be eligible for benefits.
The WCD provides 5 different types of workers’ compensation benefits:
- Reasonable and necessary medical care
- Temporary disability benefits
- Permanent disability benefits
- Vocational assistance
- Death benefits
You have 90 days to report a personal injury, and 12 months to report an occupational illness. To be eligible for workers’ compensation, you must first report the injury to your employer and fill out a Form 801you’re your employer fails to provide you with this form, you can download it off the WCD website. It’s also crucial that you tell your doctor that your injury is work-related. Your doctor can update your medical record – which serves as important evidence – and complete Oregon Form 827. At this point, you should already be in contact with a lawyer. A legal representative can guide you through each step of this process and help you safeguard your right to benefits.
You can receive benefits for a variety of illnesses and injuries, including:
- Occupational illnesses and diseases
- Neck and spinal cord injuries
- Repetitive trauma injuries
- Slip and fall injuries
- Preexisting conditions exacerbated by daily job duties
- Carpal tunnel syndrome
- Certain job-related mental health conditions
- Joint issues
- Occupational hearing or vision loss
As previously stated, most initial claims are denied by a workers’ employer and their insurer. This is usually due to paperwork errors or because the insurance provider doesn’t believe your injury warrants benefits. Remember: an insurance company is like any other business; their goal is to make money, not spend it. Likewise, your employer doesn’t want to worry about an increase in their premiums. Fortunately, the Hillsboro workers’ compensation lawyers at The Gatti Law Firm can help you complete and file the proper forms and even guide you through each step of the appeals process.
Choose The Gatti Law Firm Today!
Contact the Hillsboro workers’ compensation attorneys at The Gatti Law Firm if you have questions about this legal process or are ready to file a claim. We can help you recover life-saving benefits that alleviate your medical debts and safeguard your standard of living.
Contact The Gatti Law Firm at (503) 543-1114 to schedule a case evaluation.